UPDATED: Lawan, Omo-Agege emerge Senate President, Deputy Senate President

Comments (0) Featured, News, Politics

THE majority leader of the 8th Senate, Ahmed Lawan has emerged as the new Senate President of the 9th National Assembly.

He recorded a landslide victory in an open ballot election conducted on the floor of the Senate on Tuesday to elect leaders of the new Senate. He polled 79 of the total 107 votes.

His opponent, Mohammed Ali Ndume, also of APC has 28 votes.

Lawan is the preferred candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and President Muhammadu Buhari.

He was nominated by senator-elect Yayaha Abdullahi and seconded by Solomon Adeola Olamilekan both of whom are of the All Progressives Congress, APC, from Kebbi and Lagos States respectively.

Also, Ovie-Omo Agege of APC emerged the Deputy Senate President after beating the immediate Deputy President, Ike Ekweremadu in the election.

Of the total 105 votes cast, Omo-Agege polled 68 votes to beat Ekeweremadu who polled 37 votes. One senator however abstained from voting, where there was one invalid vote.

Leave a Reply